Consulado da Nicarágua em São Paulo
Nicaraguan Consulate in São Paulo    


Republic of Nicaragua - General Information



Official Name: Republic of Nicaragua

Form of State: Presidential Republic

Capital: Managua

Area: 129.494 Km²

Language: Spanish

National Date: September 15 

Largest Cities: Managua, León, Chinandega, Masaya e Granada

Population: 6.0 milion

Currency: Córdoba


National Simbols


 National Flag:




It is made up of three equal horizontal lines, the two outer blue and white center.
The white fringe of the National Flag represents the nation's Nicaraguan territory andsymbolizes the purity of the motherland.

In the center is the national emblem, wich consists of a green triangle with five volcanoes on such a cap and a rainbow.
This triangle is surrounded by a circle formed by the words Republic of Nicaraguaand Central America.

The fringes blue, indicating that the territory of Nicaragua is bordered by two oceans.


National Coat of Arms:  




Has the form of an equilateral triangle.

The triangle signifies equality.

The rainbow signifies peace.

The central cap means freedom.

The five volcanoes signify unity and brotherhood among all five Central American countries.



National Anthem: 


Hail to you Nicaragua, on your grounds

the canon's voice no longer roars 

nor does the blood of our brothers 

stained the glorious bi-colored flag 


Peace shines beautifully on your skies 

nothing dims your immortal glory 

for working is what earns your laurels and honor


is your triumphal ensign



Anthem named Hail to thee Nicaragua is the shortest and the only American who is not inspired by the "Marseillaise" and do not proclaim war.

His music is religious in nature, attributed to a monk, Anselm Ernesto Castin, and hisoriginal letter of Salomón Ibarra Mayorga(1887-1885).

It was sung for the first time on 16 diciembre 1918, being officially adopted in 1938.



National Bird: 



The National Bird is the Guardabarranco (Eumomota superciliosa).

This bird is small in size, has short wings and round and broad tail feathers with theextreme-shaped rackets.

Is in many localities in Nicaragua, especially in the departments of Granada, Masaya,Carazo and Rivas.

The Guardabarranco is widely used on postage stamps issued by the country.


National Flower: 




 The national flower is the Sacuanjoche (Plumeria rubra acutefolia) and its namecomes from an Aztec dialect, as defined by the investigator General Alfonso Valle,broken down as follows: "zacuani" precious yellow pen, "Xochitl" flower.


Nicaragua, the largest country of Central America, with an area of 129,494 km2, is bounded in the north by Honduras, Costa Rica in the south, in the east by the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean on the west. Nicaragua is divided in three main regions: The Pacific Plains, the Centre-North Mountains and the Caribbean Plains, or Mosquitos Coast. Interposed by about 40 volcanoes, with hot climate and fertile lands, characterises the Pacific Plains. The country´s principal cities, Managua, Granada and León are located here. The lakes, rains and fertile lands make agriculture the principal economic activity of this region.

Lake Nicaragua has over 400 islands and is the country´s largest lake, connected to the Caribbean Sea by the San Juan River. The Centre-North region consists of various mountain ranges and valleys. The soil is also quite fertile, favouring agriculture. The country´s highest point, Cerro Mogotón (2103m) is located in this region, close to the border with Honduras. The Mosquitos Coast represents nearly half of the Nicaraguan territory and has the country´s main rivers. Less populated, the region has savannah vegetation and tropical forests.  

The country´s climate varies according to the region and altitude. The hot climate of the Pacific Plains alternates between dry and humid seasons. The annual rainfall of the region comes to 1900mm. The Mosquitos Coast also has a hot and humid climate with an annual rainfall of 3300mm. On the other hand, the mountain ranges have a colder climate.

 The Political System

Nicaragua is divided in 15 Departments (Boaco, Carazo, Chinandega, Chontales, Esteli, Granada, Jinotega, León, Madriz, Managua, Masaya, Matagalpa, Nueva Segovia, Rio San Juan, Rivas) and two autonomous regions (Atlantico Norte and Atlantico Sur). 

The Executive: The President and Vice President are elected by popular vote for a five years term. The cabinet consists of the following ministries: Foreign Relations, Government, Defence, Education, Family, Environment and Natural Resources, Agriculture and Forestry, Labour, Development, Industry and Trade, Treasury and Public Credit, Health, Transport and Infrastructure.

President Daniel Ortega Saavedra, Sandinist National Liberation Front (FSLN), took office on January 10, 2012. The next elections are scheduled for November 2016.

The Legislative: The National Assembly (unicameral), with 92 members elected by proportional representation for a mandate of five years. The main parties are the Sandinist National Liberation Front (FSLN) and the Liberal Constitutional Party (PLC).

The Judiciary: A Supreme Court has 16 judges elected by the National Assembly for mandates of five years. 


The Economy

Economic Indicators: 


GDP: US$ 9.8 billion 2012

GDP per capita: US$3,325 2012

Inflation: 6.6% 2012

Unemployment: 7% (2012), with considerable informal labour – 31%.

Gross Domestic Product by Sectors:

  • Agriculture: 28%
  • Industry: 19%
  • Services: 53%


US$5.04 billion 2012

Products: coffee, shrimps, lobsters, cotton, tobacco, bananas, meat, sugar, gold

Destination: United States, El Salvador and Venezuela




US$6.8 billion (est. 2012)

Products: machines and equipment, raw materials and intermediary goods, capital goods, consumer goods, oil, fuel and lubricants. 

Origin: United States, Venezuela, Mexico and China.

Principal trade partners: United States, Venezuela and Central American countries.

Bilateral Relationship

The bilateral relationship between Brazil and Nicaragua develop cordially, although modestly. Hurricane Mitch, at the end of 1998, destroyed most of Nicaragua´s economic infrastructure, generating greater Brazilian cooperation, particularly emergency assistance (donations of medicines and medical equipment). The technical-scientific and cultural cooperation of today is an important contribution. Result of the Basic Agreement signed in 1987 it covers the following areas: agriculture and livestock breeding, alternative and renewable energy, industrial and agriculture (seeds) research, sanitation and education.

The Centre of Brazilian Studies (CEB) of Managua offers Portuguese courses to about 180 students annually. CEB is an important tool to disseminate Brazilian culture. Television soap operas as well as popular music and Brazilian football are highly appreciated and contribute greatly to divulging Brazilian culture.

The cancelling of the Nicaraguan debt with Brazil was a measure of great importance in the last few years of the bilateral relationship. In May of 2002 Brazil pardoned 95% of the Nicaraguan debt, accumulated in the 1980´s






Consulado da Nicaragua em São Paulo
Consulado da Nicaragua em São Paulo
Consulado da Nicaragua em São Paulo
Av. Dr. Chucri Zaidan 940 Tower II 16º andar  São Paulo  Brasil  04583-906 Office: +55 11 3042-1177 Weather
Copyright © 2014   Nicaraguan Consulate in Sao Paulo